Webreakstuff blog

Google buys YouTube, internet wonders why

Mike just posted what everyone else was expecting – Google acquired Youtube for 1.6billion. During the last few weeks, many people wondered whether the rumors were true – and many wondered what the strategy behind the deal might be. While I like the fact that Chad and the rest of the YouTube team get the recognition for their work, I think I’d rather see Google expand their offering and functionality instead of acquiring a whole community.

According to the investor conference call, Youtube will remain (at least somewhat) independent – something I believe Chad intended -, and honestly I hope that’s what happens. Communities like those of YouTube aren’t always keen on being associated with big corporations so only time will tell how this acquisition will have an impact on the site’s usage patterns. I guess we’ll wait and see.

Something I’d definitely like to see: a more polished-looking Youtube. Come on, guys, you really can’t deny having the resources now, right? :-)

6 comments
  1. synthetron says: October 9, 200611:10 pm

    Please join us in the collaboratively filtered realtime discussion:

    TOPIC: google youtube

    START TIME:

    2006-10-10 , 00:00 CEST (Brussels, Paris, Rome, Madrid, Stockholm).
    2006-09-10 , 23:00 BST (London, Dublin, Lisbon).
    2006-09-10 , 18:00 EDT (New York, Detroit, Toronto, Montreal).
    2006-09-10 , 15:00 PDT (Vancouver, Los Angeles, Tijuana, Yukon).

    TO JOIN:

    go to the following url:

    https://www.synthetron.com/account/tag/conversation/googleyoutube

    Confirm [yes] to the security warning and follow the instructions.
    (In some companies a proxy login dialog box will appear. You then need to type your company internet username and password).

    YOU NEED:

    A Java plugin installed on your browser.

  2. [...] Pour vous documenter sur le sujet commencez par lire ce qu’en disent Peter Cashmore, Jeff Clavier, Mike Arrington (name dropping !) ou le blog de webreakstuff, qui a l’air de se poser également des questions. [...]

  3. [...] Fred / WeBreakStuff: Google buys YouTube, internet wonders why [...]

  4. LaRadice » Google acquista Youtube says: October 10, 20064:49 pm

    [...] ScriptingNews, TechCrunch, TF, Web2.0Explorer, Web2List, WeBreakStuff [...]

  5. hatbox says: December 28, 20061:41 pm

    Marvelous. Thanks, will spread this among my friends!

  6. helle says: December 28, 20061:47 pm

    Marvelous. Thanks, will spread this among my friends!

Submit comment